A short walk around the UNESCO listed sites in the historic town of Třebíč: 4 km

  • The town of Třebíč dates from 1101, when a Benedictine monastery was established on the banks of the Jihlava river. Today, Třebíč is known primarily for its unique preserved Jewish quarter and large cemetery, together with the 13th century Gothic/Romanesque Basilica. It was the close coexistence for many centuries of the Jewish and Christian communities with the related architecture that led UNESCO in 2003 to inscribe this part of Třebíč in the World Heritage list.
  • A walk around all the main sites can be done in around 4 km, starting from the bus station (or one of the paid parking areas close to the centre) . A suggested loop starts with an ascent of the 75m city tower for its panoramic view of the old town. After crossing the main square and then the river, the route climbs onto the cliff overlooking the town, where remnants of the town’s medieval defences can be found.
  • After visiting the Jewish cemetery, the route drops down to the Basilica and former monastery area (the monastery was converted into a Renaissance chateau in the 16th century. The final section of the route passes through the Jewish quarter, before returning to the main square.
  • The route has a number of step sections with around 80m of height to ascend/descend, but otherwise is on easy paths and asphalt pavements. For refreshment, there are a number of good cafés to investigate in Třebíč´s old streets. In the chateau courtyard, try the Kavárna U Sv. Prokopa or just after passing through the archway on the way down for the Basilica, there is the Cukrárna Za pecí and in the Jewish quarter the atmospheric Café art Třebíč.

Note: click ‘Show on Mapy.com’  to go to a full screen version of the route directly on the mapy.com site. This can be used for on line navigation, saved or exported as a GPX file.

Directions

  • Starting at the trail junction near the the bus station, follow the YELLOW trail to reach the city tower after 350m
  • After enjoying the view from the tower, continue back to the main square taking one of the side streets and there turn right onto the BLUE trail
  • Follow the BLUE trail out of the eastern side of the square, cross the river using the footbridge and then continuing for 100m on the BLUE trail until reaching the sign post for Masaryk lookout, which leads up some steps
  • Take the steps route, which quickly leads to the viewpoint. Continue on the footpath along the cliff edge to reach the ruin of the old medieval bastion
  • Continue a further 500m along the path, to exit the park area. Turn right onto Hrádek street to visit the Jewish cemetery and then return back to the same spot
  • Follow the signs leading to the Basilica or take one of the other side paths leading down to the chateau area
  • After visiting the Basilica complex leave through the medieval archway and follow the signs to the Jewish quarter
  • After walking around the quarter, cross the river on one of the pedestrian crossings to return back to the main square and the bus station/parking areas
Třebíč is one of the oldest towns in the country, dating from 1101 and was  inscribed in the UNESCO list for is unique Jewish quarter and Christian Basilica. Take this easy walk around the main sites.
The Basilca and chateau in Třebíč
The tower in Třebíč
The tower in Třebíč
Třebíč Basilica with Jewish quarter on the right of the river Jihlav
Třebíč Basilica with Jewish quarter on the right of the river Jihlava